Wanderers Football Club

wanderers football club

wanderers football club

Katanning Wanderers

Football Club




Katanning Wanderers, or Wanderers as it was known, was formed in 1922 and played in a small association of local and district clubs which included Wanderers, Imperials, Rovers and Railways.
The colours of black and yellow have always been associated with the club, as has the tiger emblem and nickname.

wanderers football club
Wanderers Football Club – Premiers 1920

Post Second World War, after a gap of six years, Wanderers reformed and in the late forties and fifties was very successful on the field.
During that period the club won five premierships: the first in 1948, followed in 1953, 1955, 1956 and 1957.
The Quartermaine family, (a Quartermaine has played for Wanderers every year since its formation) were early settlers in Katanning in the 1860’s. Family members were prominent members of the club with Eric, Ross, Fred, and Ken outstanding players over the years.

wanderers football club
Wanderers Football Club – 1952Back (L-R): A Bruce (Assistant Trainer), L Dowling (President), A Reynolds, W Porter, A Voss, A White (Secretary), W Haddleton (Coach). Middle: F Quartermaine, E Gaby, P Perry, E Quartermaine (Vice Captain), R Quartermaine, P Brown, N Heberle, N Giles. Front: B Garstone, G Melville, K McAuliffe, K Robertson (Captain), C Brown, L Mosscrop, A Leach. Inset: L Wanke, C Philpott, W Holbrooks, R Mills, B Coventry, A Quartermaine. Absent: J Richards (Trainer).
wanderers football club
Con Regan


The 1960’s were also a fruitful era for the club with premierships in 1963, 1967, 1968.
The last two were under East Fremantle Football Club Hall of Fame and West Australian Football Hall of Fame player Con Regan who came to town as the local police sergeant and coached the club during his time in Katanning.
The 1968 Grand Final against traditional rivals Kojonup will forever be remembered for the fierce hail storm during the game that forced the game to be abandoned and replayed the following week.



wanderers football club


In 1971 Alan Quartermaine, a former Wanderers player,
won the Sandover Medal
(Western Australian footballs highest individual honour)
playing for East Perth in the West Australian Football League.




The 1970’s was a lean period for the club and it went from 1968 till 1983 before another premiership
The club recruited Adrian Edwards, Michael Allen and Allan Campbell to the club and with a wealth of young talent won premierships in 1983, 1985 and 1986 under Campbell’s coaching.
All had played previously for a second Katanning Football Club; the Australs Lions before playing with clubs in Wagin and in Perth.
During this era Wanderers played in the Central Great Southern Football League (CGFSL), against teams from Cranbrook (folded in 1978), Nyabing (moved in 1972 to the Ongerup Football Association (OFA), Dumbleyung, Tambellup, Kojonup, Katanning Australs and (in 1983) Kukerin, which had moved from the old Lake Grace League.
In 1990, a drastic change occurred when the CGSFL folded as Kukerin and Dumbleyung amalgamated in 1992 and moved to the Upper Great Southern Football League (UGSFL).
Wanderers secretary Arthur Todd was also president of the CGSFL at the time and recalls the trauma of the two small towns, Dumbleyung and Kukerin, losing their individual football clubs.
Meanwhile Australs, Wanderers, Tambellup and Kojonup moved to the newly formed Great Southern Football League (GSFL) which is centered in Albany.
Local football identity Fred Wolfe, a stalwart of the Katanning Australs club, was CGSFL president at the time of that change.
The GSFL league was formed in 1991 after an amalgamation of the Southern Districts Football League (Denmark, Royals, North Mt Barker, North Albany, Railways and South Mt Barker) and CGSFL (Katanning Australs, Kojonup, Tambellup, Katanning Wanderers, Kukerin, Dumbleyung).
Katanning Wanderers played-off in four GSFL league grand finals but was unable to win one.
The GSFL, with ten teams, became a new challenge for Katanning Wanderers.
Katanning Australs and Tambellup both folded, North and South Mount Barker amalgamated, and Kojonup moved to the Lower South West Football League.
This made the SWFL a six teams competition with Katanning Wanderers the only northern based team.
Katanning Wanderers decided to leave the GSFL and joined the UGSFL in 2003 to provide a better competition for its junior side.
In the UGSFL the under 14’s competition played on the same day as the Colts, Reserves and League teams.
The current UGSFL competition comprises Boddington, Williams, Wickepin, Narrogin Hawks, Wagin, Katanning Wanderers, Kukerin/Dumbleyung and Brookton/Pingelly.
Katanning Wanderers played-off in the 2011 grand final against Williams but without success.
The Reserves, Colts and Under 14’s have won multiple premierships in the UGSFL with the club having a strong following both at home and away.

wanderers football clubIn 2017, the club finally broke the league premiership drought when it had
strong win over the Narrogin Hawks.
More reading…

wanderers football club

In the same year, former Wanderers and Fremantle Dockers player,
Hayden Schloithe
won the 2017 Sandover Medal playing for South Fremantle.



Katanning Wanderers current home is at Quartermaine Oval situated at the Katanning Leisure Centre with the “Sprig Bar” as its headquarters.

Katanning Football Grounds

During the early years of VFL/AFL football in the region all teams played at the showground. which has since been developed into the Katanning Recreation and Leisure Centre, and also at Prosser Oval for a while.
During the 1960’s both Wanderers and Australs co-located at the newly developed Kupara Park sports complex which had been built over a disused rubbish tip.
Both teams then again moved in the mid 1980’s to O’Callaghan Park for a couple of seasons while the Kupara Park oval was refurbished.
On completion of the refurbishment Katanning Australs returned to Kupara Park while Katanning Wanderers remained at O’Callaghan Park.
With the establishment of the Katanning Recreation and Leisure Centre in the mid 90’s, and due to the condition of O’Callaghan Park, both clubs were invited to again move and co-locate at Quartermaine Oval.
Katanning Wanderers took up the opportunity while Katanning Australs decided to stay at Kupara Park.


Return to HOME page

Go to Wanderers Football Club Website

Go to Wanderers Football Club Facebook Page

wanderers football club

wanderers football club     wanderers football club     wanderers football club wanderers football club

Leave a Reply